The Ian Hulmes Award

Ian Hulmes was an outstanding player and member of the Research Lower-Plenty Baseball Club for 30 years.

Ian won 17 Senior club awards, including 5 best & fairest awards. He represented the Diamond Valley on 6 occasions and was twice selected to the VPBL All-Star team to represent Victoria.

As a long serving coach & committee member Ian was recognised with a life membership in 1982.

Ian passed away on June 16, 1990 at Glenauburn Park while playing baseball, the game he loved.

His legacy continues at the club with his son Steven still playing and his wife Robyn still an active member through her scoring on a Saturday afternoon.

The Ian Hulmes award is a perpetual trophy awarded to the junior player that best represents the spirit of how Ian played the game. It is not necessarily awarded to the best junior player, it is recognition of a junior member who has contributed to the club that goes above and beyond just training and playing. The attributes of being a great team mate, is encouraging, is very coachable, a natural leader on the field and assists in other ways when the opportunity presents are some of the criteria for recognition.

Below are the previous recipients of the Ian Hulmes award.

1990 - Ralph Siede
1991 - Daniel Mack
1992 - Daniel Mack

1993 - Tim Besford

1994 - Matthew May

1995 - Matthew May 

1996 - Shaun Parsons

1997 - Brendan Harvey

1998 - Brett Kelly

1999 - Brett Kelly

2000 - Heath Pearce, Luke Barker

2001 - Leigh McKay

2002 - Adam Wllaston

2003 - Josh Bride, Jye Pawley

2004 - Michael Sievers

2005 - Josh Bride

2006 - Josh Bride

2007 - Matt McKay, Rhys Aldenhoven

2008 - Billy Jenkin

2009 - Riley Cleeve

2010 - Hamish Cheeser

2011 - Connor Lennox

2012 - Mitchell McCulloch

2013 - Riley Cleeve

2014 - Ethan Appleby

2015 - Cooper de Haan

2016 - Tom Cutherbert

2017 - Noah Willis

2018 - Ben Crundwell